my life as a student minister

“Whole30 Challenge” Day 4

Day four of “eating clean” is finished. Wow…today was a transformative day. First, my general cravings for “junk” is almost gone. I do have my moments, but unlike before, I’m not always thinking about eating. Today my mind has really cleared up and allowed me to process things much easier. I don’t feel as if I’m in a sugar daze anymore. I had a steady level of energy today too. Typically, around 2:00 I want to fall asleep. For the first time in a long time, I didn’t feel that today. Yesterday was pretty rough with stomach cramps and going to the bathroom every five minutes, but all of that is gone now.

People keep asking me if I’m eating healthy. I just laugh. I really believe some people thing that I’m starving myself. To be truthful, I’m eating a lot of food, just clean, chemical-free food. I’m taking pictures of my meals so that you can see that my food is healthy and substantive.

Since my mind is clearer, I spent some time today just thinking and reading Scripture. Today, one of the things I read was from 1 Peter 1:13-16. These verses are our student ministry theme verses for next year. As I re-read them, the words “prepare your minds for action,” “self-controlled,” and “grace” stuck out to me. Through this process my mind is becoming clear to think without unnatural chemical interaction. My glutenous behavior is being “controlled” and finally, God is showing me even more so his grace. Romans 12 comes to mind too. I’m trying to offer my body as a living sacrifice to God. I’m allowing him to work through hunger and desires created by this world (m&m’s, diet coke, etc) to renew me. In the process of all of this, he’s opening up my eyes to HIS greatness in all situations. If you’re reading this, I urge you to challenge the beast of over eating, not respecting our bodies, and reclaim control. Proverbs 22:7 and Romans 13:8 talk about owing people or being a slave to something. I don’t want to owe my happiness to eating certain foods or be a slave to a taste, etc.

Ok…here is my food for the day:

Breakfast:
2 hard boiled eggs
1 chicken breast (different seasoning)

Snack:
Carrots/Apple

Lunch:
El Rodeo-Fajitas (without sour cream, cheese, or the tortilla)

Snack:
Assorted Nuts

Supper:
Fajitas (Same as above but including lettuce)

Leave a Reply

